Reading Response for March 31, 2010- Multigenre Research Projects

I loved how in the article by Grierson, Anson, and Baird, they stated, ” The multigenre format is highly flexible and can be adapted to many writing situations and purposes.” I was trying to think about how I would use this for my Kindergartners. I realized that I would most likely have to do a shared writing of a multigenre project with my studentds using a lot scaffolding in place to help them create the projects. We could research community helpers and research different ways they help our community.

Also in the article by Allen and Swistak, I like the way they desrcibed the multigenre project as a “collage of writing, often puntuated with artistic sketches”. It ties with the other idea of being flexible and creative. I believe that my Kindergarteners need that model first, so that in the future they will already have the background knoweledge to prepare themesevles to do a project like this independently.

Leave a Reply

